Follow Us!!  E: rob@rutlandwaterbandb.co.uk T: 01572 722422  To Make a Reservation Now
Lakeside Bed & Breakfast The Lodge, Barnsdale, Rutland Water, England

Home

Location

Rooms

Prices

Nearby

Online Booking +booking fee

Contact us

Fly Fishing

rutland B&B  

certificate of excellence winner 2016

These are just some of our guests comments

Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 starsReviewed 14 May 2012
My wife and I returned from this bed and Breakfast yesterday after a fantastic weekend. I pride myself on having travelled the world and stayed in some wonderful places. If anyone wants to take a break in the United kingdom were you are made to feel that you are welcome, looked after and in a place that feels like home.........look no further this is the place. Rob the owner could not have made us more welcome if he tried. You will overlook 26 miles of Rutland water with spectacular Views and amazing wild life whilst there for 2 nights I saw Deer, Stoat, Heron, Osprey but to say just a few and to cap it all whilst the wife relaxed I went fishing and caught 3 amazing Trout, which Rob kindly gutted and bagged for me on my return home I ate the first one last night (Yummy) ! This is the first time I have ever written a review so it must have left an impression. You will just have to go to see how wonderful it is.i have read the other reviews and they are spot on so i will not repeat things that have already been mentioned. We will definitely return
Norwich
2 reviews
5 of 5 starsReviewed 11 April 2012
We have just returned from a short break at Rutland Water. Rob's B&B was the perfect place to stay. We were made to feel very welcome, from the comfortable room with a beautiful view to the log burning stove that dried us out after the non-stop rain!
Thanks for a great few days - we will definitely be back.
5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 April 2012
The word “hospitably” must have been invented here.
The B&B at lakeside, The Lodge in Barnsdale is like staying over with your best friend.
The room we stayed in was very nice and we were grateful that there was no television in our room. So we went to the lounge, with a nice fire burning, to watch the television and met the other guests. Believe me... that was great.
I can not remember staying in a B&B as cosy and comfortable like this one.
Rob is doing a good job running his place..... Not to mention his skills on fishing.
Peace and tranquillity, laughter and fun...
One minus? yes!!! He should have served us a small taste of his own caught fish (joke)
One thing is for sure.... we'll go back.
england
1 review
5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 April 2012
These premiere lodges and the like are all very well but so impersonal. You take a certain risk when you stay somewhere for the first time but this one paid off. We stayed at Lakeside for a few nights at the end of March. Yes, we were lucky with the weather but even luckier with our choice of accommodation. We were made very welcome, the rooms comfortable and cosy. The breakfast set us up for the day and we met some nice people........No complaints on this one, thanks Rob it was a brilliant few days.
5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 March 2012
We booked Lakeside B&B for a couple of nights in March (just before the fly-fishing season begins in earnest!) and couldn't believe our luck. Barnsdale Lodge and Hall just up the road may be billed as the "premium" places to stay in the area but this B&B has an even better location, right by the water and on a cul-de-sac too. The only "traffic" we saw were dog walkers and cyclists on the route around Rutland Water, which goes right by Lakeside. So, if you want somewhere peaceful to stay and with a gorgeous view, this is it.
The huge guest lounge is where you'll need to watch TV (if you really want to) and overlooks Rutland Water, with a French door to a veranda where you can enjoy a drink and watch the sunset or look at the stars.
Our double room overlooked the back garden. The bed was extremely comfortable (I have had many stays at hotels and B&Bs where the bed is way too soft and spongy), the ensuite shower spotlessly clean.
Breakfast both mornings was delicious and freshly cooked by Rob, who deserves a mention for being such a friendly and welcoming host.
Our main aim for the stay was to cycle round Rutland Water. Lakeside B&B couldn't have been better placed for us. The cycle hire centre at Whitwell is a lovely 30 min walk through woodland and by the waterside, so don't take your car as you'll only have to pay for their car park. Rob's great brekkie meant we didn't really need lunch, but we had a fantastic meal at the Fox and Hounds pub in Exton, just a 5 min drive from the B&B and found a very pretty tea room set in a walled garden in Oakham, by the church/castle.
We will definitely go back and have recommended this to others. Just book it!
5 of 5 starsReviewed 19 February 2012
You will be given a very warm and friendly welcome by Rob, who owns the Lakeside B&B.
It is ideally positioned, within a stones throw of the waters edge, for those wanting to enjoy Rutland water.
The room was beautifully decorated and cosy. We didnt feel the -13C outside at all. There is a lovely shared guest lounge to relax in too with log burner and plenty of local information to read up on.
The breakfasts are amazing, you must try the home caught and smoked trout and scrambled egg - you wont taste better than this!
5 of 5 starsReviewed 19 February 2012
For the 4th year running we had a wonderful time at the Lakeside B&B.
A mere 20 minute drive from where we live and yet it feels like a world apart.

Waking up to breathtaking views across the lake from the romantic four poster bed, and if that wasn't enough the wondrous aroma of a full English breakfast to tempt your taste buds.
And when I say full i mean FULL!!

We were lucky enough to sample a Barnsdale breakfast during our stay. Freshly caught trout, smoked by our gracious host Rob - A must for all who visit.
Spoilt for choice with places to visit, pubs and restaurants aplenty.

We'll definitely be back.

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 February 2012
1
person found this review helpful
We stayed in the 4 poster, lovely room with fantastic views. The guest lounge was also great, with very comfortable sofas and a roaring wood burner. Rob is a charming host, full of useful advice and local knowledge and very helpful in all respects. His breakfasts are superb, we tried both the traditional English and his special with his own smoked trout, which we really recommend. We cycled around Rutland Water on our first day, the Lodge is right on the cycle path and the next went for a long walk in he snow. It is a great location for walking, cycling, exploring lovely villages and towns and there are also good places to eat. We recommend the nearby Fox and Hounds in Exton, a picture perfect village. There are also a couple of places in walking distance - useful in heavy snow. We tried Barnsdale Hall Hotel, just behind the Lodge. Not the best decor or ambiance, but surprisingly great food, good value and very friendly staff.

 

“Staying At Lakeside B&B Was An Absolute Treat”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 March 2011

From the really warm welcome on arrival through to the gorgeous clean rooms, the friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietor Rob and his huge superbly prepared breakfasts staying here was an absolute pleasure. And as if all that wasn't enough the location is superb. Beautiful views of Rutland Water and perfectly placed to enjoy the beautiful sunsets too.

We will definitely be returning, this is a very special place indeed and we loved it.

“fantastic location, friendly hosts”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 20 March 2011

Beautiful views of sunset over the lake from the guest lounge. Very friendly hosts who did everything they could to make you feel welcome. Lovely bedrooms and a very peaceful night's sleep. Delicious breakfast. Will definitely be making a return trip.

“Perfect setting, great host”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 February 2012NEW

We stayed in the 4 poster, lovely room with fantastic views. The guest lounge was also great, with very comfortable sofas and a roaring wood burner. Rob is a charming host, full of useful advice and local knowledge and very helpful in all respects. His breakfasts are superb, we tried both the traditional English and his special with his own smoked trout, which we really recommend. We cycled around Rutland Water on our first day, the Lodge is right on the cycle path and the next went for a long walk in he snow. It is a great location for walking, cycling, exploring lovely villages and towns and there are also good places to eat. We recommend the nearby Fox and Hounds in Exton, a picture perfect village

We had a very happy stay at Lakeside B & B, very attractively situated
beside Rutland Water. Rob, our host, made us very welcome, and nothing
was too much trouble. He gave us lots of help in finding places to visit and
offered helpful tips on where to eat, and printed out information on a
number of places we wanted to visit, which was very helpful. The breakfasts
were fantastic - perfectly cooked, and lots of food - enough to keep
us going for hours.
The accommodation was most attractive, cosy and very comfortable. The
bedrooms were attractively and imaginatively furnished in warm
colours, and we appreciated the hospitality trays. My husband and I stayed
in the four poster room, which had lovely views of Rutland Water.
The guest lounge was very spacious and most comfortably furnished, with a
lovely woodburning stove, which Rob lit for us each evening. This
made us feel very much at home. We enjoyed the luxury of a good-sized TV
with freeview channels. We hope to visit again in the summer,
when we can really appreciate the sunsets over Rutland Water from the large
windows in the lounge.
All in all, a lovely break in a B & B which offers excellent accommodation
with the personal touch.
We would recommend this B & B without hesitation.
Lysetta and Trevor Bray, and adult children Chris and Natasha,
Gloucestershire

Lovely rooms, great host, good food-would gladly recommend Cath & Mark Hunter London     

A peaceful haven, real hospitality, home from home, could stay forever!! Shirley & Ian Kent     Wonderful breakfast, beautiful surroundings & brilliant host, will definitely be back.  Mike & Carol. Kent.

Comfortable, beautiful area, good breakfasts, excellent host in rob. A most enjoyable stay-thank you. And we saw ospreys! Julian & Dee Norfolk

What a fantastic place, have fallen in love with it so will be back soon! Rob, a fantastic host with a great Yorkshire sense of humour! Thanks. Sue, Lou, Hel, Murph  Leeds

Jovial host, Excellent breakfast, great shower, Tony Martin Suffolk

Thanks so much for a lovely break, superb cycling. Debra, Jan, Bridget & Owen Tyneside

Thanks for the enjoyable stay, it was a thrill to see the ospreys. Kath & Pat London

Original and very good, what a setting!!  Liz & James Swansea

Great location, great food, great host, gorgeous room and lovely getaway. Thanks Rob. Nick & Siobhan Gloucestershire

Exemplary, as always. Perfect addition to any holiday-warm happy Lodge, thanks again Rob. Rod Tye Lough Mask

As the advert says "Probably the Best B&B in the World". Great rooms, great food and a wonderful host. As they say at home "mile buiochas" (a thousand thanks) Tom Byrne Irish Flyfishing world cup winner Ballinrobe Eire

Great location, excellent food, superb fishing John & John Ireland

Lovely rooms, great host, good food-would gladly recommend Cath & Mark Hunter London

Sincere thanks, highly recommended! Ken Townsend  London

Wonderful place, home from home Pat, Simon, Rena & Chris Hampshire

Wonderful place for relaxing and enjoying. Thomas Freyer Siydisfjordur, Iceland

Fantastic Scenery, very welcoming. Thank You Marcus & Bev Chester

Lovely relaxed atmosphere, space, views, location- all excellent thanks! Jane & Dr. Paul Sporry Cambs.

Thanks Rob, Superb! Sayed & Amanda Newbury

Top place, top breakfast, top hospitality. Never seen so many trout!! (in Rob's freezer) Derek Smith  Moray

Rob's breakfasts certainly give meaning to the phrase 'all day breakfasts'! SUPERB THANKS  Jean & Geoff Holmfirth Yorks.

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay- great hospitality. Nigel & Liz London

Finding myself in need of accommodation at short notice, I happened upon The Lodge, which is so squirrelled away I didn't know it existed - and I lived in Rutland for many years.
The B&B has a near-perfect setting on the shores of Rutland Water, and the rooms are warm and comfortable. There is also a guest lounge with wonderful views.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and any problems are dealt with promptly and with a minimum of fuss. And the breakfasts will certainly set you up for the day!

Kahnee-Wakefield

Just to say a big" Thank You " to Rob and his son for giving us yet another wonderful break. The lakeside location is truly amazing; so tranquil and relaxing. It was just the tonic we needed. Rob, you were so thoughtful in every way..it was much appreciated.
P.S. Don't ever change that breakfast menu...WOW.... amazing...

Georgina-London

Thanks, great hospitality, will come back. Milo & Michelle , Belgium

Its always the people that make a get away isnt it! Rob's smiley face lit up his lovely house on the banks of Rutland water for us and he made sure we were well and truly looked after. Due to the time of year and the mid-week day we arrived, we had the place to ourselves and made full use of log fire in the large spacious lounge where guests are allowed to use when ever they like. We had wine and cheese in front of the fire whilst watching the tv which was a lovely way to end our day of walking around Rutland and taking in the views.

Easy to find, value for money and the breakfast was outstanding...

Phil Begnet-St Neots

Really nice stay, lovely house setting, be back soon. Matthias & Carola Germany

Great place for fishers, run by a fisher. Great 5 day stay, will be back! William Brown Dumfries

Loved everything. Leo & Co Finland

Best scrambled eggs I ever tasted. Charles & Megan Surrey

Fabulous place, fish somersaulting in the lake, owls, badgers...the works!...great breakfast too!  Terry & Sue Essex

Just brilliant, we'll be back. Patrice & Isabelle Paris, Fr

"Best breakfast ever, good quality local produce, generous host. Situation is fabulous, great for walking, cycling and fishing, over looking beautiful lake. the accommodation is quiet and relaxed. very hospitable hosts. the breakfast was the very best with great choice of good quality local produce. we look forward to returning next year. There are lots of places of interest in the area and the lodge is just a short trip to some very nice shops and eating places, some in walking distance! Mary Hawes, Braintree

"Beautiful location; lovely room; fantastic breakfast; warm & friendly owner" This is a warm, clean, beautifully furnished B&B in a lovely location by Rutland Water. The breakfast was excellent and served in a friendly, relaxed setting. The owner is welcoming and extremely pleasant and gave the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. A real bonus is the guest sitting room with its large, comfy sofa, woodburning stove and view across the reservoir. I don't usually bother writing reviews but this B&B deserves a mention. I highly recommend it and will definitely return when I revisit the area in the summer. Sally-Anne-Bristol